Looking Back at the Live Gigs

We had our first two live showcases on January 22 and 23. On the 22nd we did the revival of my acoustic miniseries CRAM at Professor Java’s. Then on the 23rd we had an electric show at the Low Beat. Here are my thoughts.

  1. The Low Beat show went awesome. There is really nothing different I would do about it, except that I should have MC’ed and introduced every band. That was my fault though; I was feeling very low energy and could not kick myself out of my funk. Still, a great time was had by all.
  2. Java’s was…another story. The performers were all great, but the venue is not ideal. First of all, we showed up and they didn’t even know they had a show booked that night, even though we have been talking to them about it for nearly two months. Second, some other guy showed up to host a karaoke gig in the other room! On top of the disorganization, Java’s is kind of out of the way, located on the end of Wolf Road near I-87. Most people don’t think of going to a coffee house on Fridays. Someone guided me toward doing the next gig at Tierra Coffee Roasters. This is the venue that was the Muddy Cup once upon a time, which is where I USED to host CRAM back in the day. It always had a good turnout. Why? Not only because of my advertising, but also because it was a better location.

Regarding the move to Tierra, there is one problem: they don’t have a PA, which means I need to supply one. I am beyond broke right now so, unless I got a successful crowdfunding campaign going, I won’t be able to do acoustic shows for a long time.

Then again, that’s not a bad thing. Think about it: for the acoustic bill, I have to get four performers. For the electric, I need to get three. On top of that, I have to spend the time booking AND promoting two shows per month. Right now, I just don’t have the time for that. Maybe I will by the time I save up enough to buy my own PA system?

All signs are pointing to putting CRAM on hiatus and focusing on the Low Beat showcases. I still have to think about it.

About diecoversdie

I am a podcast originating in Troy, NY. My goal is to wrest control of the music scene away from all the cover bands. Time to bring appreciation for original music back to the area!
This entry was posted in 518, acoustic, electric, ideas, live shows, Local, Music, news, Original, podcast, recordings, updates, venues and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

